The 2024 Annual Conference is coming up! Join us and fellow public power leaders August 12-14 in Asheville, N.C.! – Register today!

Welcome 2024 ElectriCities Board Members


The newly elected and re-elected members of the ElectriCities Board of Directors have officially been sworn into office. Please join us in welcoming everyone!

New to the board are:

  • James M. Johnson (Wilson)
  • Lloyd Payne (Concord)
  • Thurman Ross, Jr. (Cornelius)

Re-elected to the board are:

  • Whitney Brooks (Lexington)
  • Troy Lewis (Tarboro)
  • John M. Stiver (Newton)

The 2024 officers of the ElectriCities board are:

  • Chairman: Troy Lewis (Tarboro)
  • Vice Chairman: Costi Kutteh (Statesville)
  • Secretary: Charles D. Nichols, III (Laurinburg)

Remaining board members are:

  • Mayor Eddie Braxton (Scotland Neck
  • Anthony C. Cannon (Greenville Utilities Commission)
  • Jim Gallagher (Gastonia)
  • Rick Howell (Shelby)
  • Randy McCaslin (High Point)
  • Kipling D. “Kip” Padgett (Wake Forest)
  • Jonathan Rynne (Fayetteville Public Works Commission)
  • Robert “Robbie” Swinson, IV (Kinston)

ElectriCities’ 16-member Board of Directors advises and directs the activities and policies for North Carolina Municipal Power Agency Number 1, North Carolina Eastern Municipal Power Agency, and ElectriCities of North Carolina. Board members serve three-year terms.

Judge Allegra Collins (far right) swore in newly elected and re-elected ElectriCities board members on Jan. 26, 2024. Board members, left to right: Lloyd Payne; Thurman Ross, Jr.; Troy Lewis; John M. Stiver; Whitney Brooks; and James M. Johnson.

Board members were sworn in and officers were elected during the ElectriCities Board of Directors meeting on Jan. 26, 2024.

“Congratulations to our newly elected and re-elected members and to this year’s officers,” said ElectriCities CEO Roy Jones. “A big thank you to outgoing Board Chairman, Randy McCaslin, for his service and leadership this past year as the Board’s work has continued on public power’s strategic plan.”

“Many thanks also to Judge Allegra Collins from the North Carolina Court of Appeals for joining us again this year to swear in the newly elected and re-elected board members,” Jones said. “I look forward to working with this distinguished group dedicated to helping ensure a bright future for public power in our region.”