Welcome 2023 ElectriCities Board Members


The newly elected and re-elected members of the ElectriCities Board of Directors have officially been sworn into office. Join us in offering everyone a warm welcome!

Jim Gallagher from Gastonia returned to the board this year. He served two terms from 2014 through 2019, chairing the board in 2019.

Re-elected to the board are:

  • Anthony C. (Tony) Cannon (Greenville Utilities Commission)
  • Costi Kutteh (Statesville)
  • Charles D. Nichols, III (Laurinburg)
  • Jonathan Rynne (Fayetteville Public Works Commission)

    Judge Allegra Collins (far right) swore in newly elected and re-elected ElectriCities board members on Jan. 27, 2023. Board members, left to right: Jonathan Rynne, Charles Nichols, Costi Kutteh, Jim Gallagher, Tony Cannon

The 2023 officers of the ElectriCities board are:

  • Chairman: Randy McCaslin (High Point)
  • Vice Chairman: Troy Lewis (Tarboro)
  • Secretary: Costi Kutteh (Statesville)

Remaining board members are:

  • Mayor Eddie Braxton (Scotland Neck)
  • Whitney Brooks (Lexington)
  • Mayor Jack Edwards (Pineville)
  • Donald I. Evans (Wilson)
  • J. Richard (Rick) Howell (Shelby)
  • Edmond (Ed) Miller (New River Light & Power)
  • Kipling D. (Kip) Padgett (Wake Forest)
  • John M. Stiver (Newton)
  • Robert (Robbie) Swinson, IV (Kinston)

ElectriCities’ 16-member Board of Directors advises and directs the activities and policies for North Carolina Municipal Power Agency Number One, North Carolina Eastern Municipal Power Agency, and ElectriCities of North Carolina. Board members serve three-year terms.

Board members were sworn in and officers were elected during the ElectriCities Board of Directors meeting on January 27, 2023.

“Congratulations to our newly elected and re-elected members and to this year’s officers,” said ElectriCities CEO Roy Jones. “A big thank you to outgoing board chairman, Donald Evans, for his distinguished service and leadership this past year.”

“Many thanks also to Judge Allegra Collins from the North Carolina Court of Appeals for swearing in the newly elected and re-elected board members,” said Jones. “I look forward to working with this esteemed group to continue ensuring a bright future for public power in our region.”